Béla Bartók /

This deeply researched biography of Bela Bartok (1881-1945) provides a more comprehensive view of the innovative Hungarian musician than ever before. David Cooper traces Bartok's international career as an ardent ethno-musicologist and composer, teacher, and pianist, while also providing a deta...

Full description

Saved in:
Bibliographic Details
Online Access:Electronic book from EBSCO
Main Author: Cooper, David, 1956- (Author)
Format: eBook
Published: New Haven [Connecticut] : Yale University Press, 2015.
Table of Contents:
  • 'Sweet was my mother's milk': 1881-1902
  • 'Now I came from the battlefield': 1903-1904
  • 'Two roads are before me': 1905-1906
  • 'Because my love has forsaken me': 1907-1909
  • 'Crossing the borders of Transylvania': 1910-1913
  • 'To plough in winter is hard work': 1914-1918
  • 'The time to rove has come': 1919-1925
  • 'The forest rustles, the fields rustle': 1925-1928
  • 'The wreath is wound around me': 1929-1935
  • 'Stars, stars, brightly shine': 1936-1938
  • 'From here is seen the graveyard's border': 1939-1942
  • 'I see the beautiful sky': 1942-1945
  • Postlude
  • List of Works.